I’m Not Doing This For Your Benefit

Once again, I’m finding myself annoyed at fitness articles.  I don’t know why I even read some websites anymore, although the annoyance isn’t all the time.  The particular one that struck me today was this one at Blisstree.com.  And a little bit from this one at the Guardian.  I mean, it’s a common enough thing.  Rip on people who are confident enough that they probably don’t care that you’re ripping on them.  You get to vent and feel better about yourself, and you’re unlikely to hurt the egos of the people involved.

Thing is, not all of us “overachievers” are egotistical bitches who are showing off their flexibility.  Yeah, the examples in the Guardian article sound like people legitimately striving for an injury, but I hear plenty of other people complain about people who are just more flexible than they are.  A friend of mine in the gym actually stopped and told me “that’s not fair” while watching me stretch after my lifting workout.

What?  What’s not fair?  The fact that I’ve been doing some form of yoga for almost 15 years and happen to be pretty flexible?  The fact that, if I’m actually going to get a decent stretch after a tough workout, I have to stretch, well, further than you happen to be able to?  Deal with it.

It’s the same mindset as the article about clothing in the gym.  Sure, it might be distracting to see a girl in hot shorts and a near-see-through tank top, but there’s really a simple solution to the problem.

Focus on your own damn workout.  I can’t speak for everyone at the gym, but when I get up and dress for the gym, I’m focused on wearing clothing that won’t restrict or interfere with my movement.  Yeah, that means tighter pants and often a sports-bra-tank-top rather than a t-shirt.  I have my reasons.  They have nothing to do with trying to pick up men or put on a show.

Which brings me to another thing that gets to me:  the constant belittling of pole dancing as a fitness class.  No, Blisstree, it’s not “just-for-funsies.”  Have you ever taken a real pole-dancing class?  One where you have to actually perform spins on the pole?  Guess what you use to support your weight while you’re whirling around the pole:  You arm strength.  It’s hard.  And you wear skimpy clothes because cloth slides off the pole, not because you’re trying to put on a show for anyone.  Seriously, climbing the pole while wearing yoga pants is pretty much impossible.

So I’m going to repeat myself.  Your problem isn’t me; your problem is you’re not focusing on your own damn workout.  None of this is for your viewing pleasure.  I’m just here trying to get a workout, like everyone else, right?  Well, except you.  You’re too busy judging us all.

Leave a Reply

