Salad and Fat

I had an interesting exchange with a coworker the other day.  He was complaining that he was starving because he just had salad for dinner the night before.  I made a joke about how salad isn’t a meal, which is funny because I bring a giant salad for lunch everyday.  The coworker pointed out this humor and then said “Well, I guess your salad is more filling because you eat, like, a half a stick of butter with it.”

Well, excuse me for liking butter with my bread.  And also, um, yeah.

That’s why fat-free salad dressings are pointless and adding cheese/eggs/olives/meat to your salad is such a good thing.  The fat helps, both in terms of satisfaction and in terms of nutrients absorbed.  Take my lunch salad today for example:

Delicious, right?

Looks super-healthy, what with that variety of veggies and heart-healthy salmon.  But that’s so not a full meal.  I’m going to add a generous helping of homemade, olive-oil-based dressing.  And, of course, my “half a stick of butter,” which is really just a homemade, soaked, whole-grain roll with a couple tablespoons of pastured butter.  Delicious, and very nourishing.

I’ve decided to participate in The Nourishing Gourmet’s “Protein and Produce” challenge, and challenge myself to eat 3 servings of quality protein (eggs, meat, fish, or raw cheese) and 4 cups of veggies, at least, every day.  My lunch salad goes a long way towards this, but it only counts if I eat it with plenty of fat to absorb those nutrients!

This post is part of Fight Back Friday at Food Renegade.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Becca on August 19, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Oh, I so agree. An all raw veggie salad will sit in my stomach like a rock – if I can even be inspired to eat it all. But a chef style of salad loaded with a good bit of meat, cheese, and fatty dressing makes me feel good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

