Post-Run Musings

First of all, wow. Apparently people liked my “Nourishing Pagan” post because I’ve gotten some positive feedback and zero negative. And I found out that one of my favorite Real Food bloggers is a semi-pagan, too! So much for feeling alone and lonely.

Well, it’s Saturday, which means a long run for me.  I’ve been running regularly, with a few breaks for injuries, for almost six years now.  I’ve done multiple 10-mile runs, a half-marathon, and a marathon, but I haven’t done a double-digit race since I committed to real, whole, traditional foods.  In the process of re-nourishing my body, I’m also re-building my running schedule.  I currently run 3 times a week, 2-3 miles during the week and 4-5 miles on the weekend.  Today, I did 5 miles.  It went well.  I felt kind of cruddy going in, but I hit my stride despite the heat and humidity.

Then I came home and made a yummy brunch: pancakes, apricot compote, whipped cream, and coffee with cream.  It was supposed to be waffles, but the first waffle just fused to the iron and would not come off.  It was good, though.  I had soaked the flour in diluted Greek yogurt overnight, so the pancakes were yummy and light, despite being all whole wheat flour.  The apricot compote had just a touch of brown sugar in it, but I’d make it with Rapadura next time.  It was the only sugar in the whole thing and was perfect against the grainy, eggy pancakes and the richness of unsweetened pastured cream.  Delicious.  I’m eating the last bits of cream that my husband didn’t eat right now with a spoonful of compote.

Hopefully my wrist starts to feel better today before my long yoga practice tomorrow.  Should work out the running kinks.  I think I’d like to spend the rest of the year working up my long run to the 8-9 mile range and then start with the new calendar year to train for a spring half-marathon entirely fueled by real food.  Unfortunately, I don’t know where I’ll be next spring, so I might have to make it an unofficial half marathon, rather than an official race, but I’d still count the achievement.

Leave a Reply

