I Bow To the Lizard Feet…

My new running shoes, resting

I did my first run in my Vibram Five Fingers today! I got them about a week and a half ago, but I’ve been wearing them around to get a feel for where they might rub my feet. Yesterday, they just felt great all day, so I went ahead and ran in them. I did 2.5 miles and felt great. We’ll see if my calves agree later today.

After I turned in my lizard feet (seriously, look at that color combo!), I went ahead and did a short yoga practice, just Surya A and B, standing poses, paschimottanasana, and inversions before shavasana. Felt good. I was a little worried about doing Surya right after a run, but I put down my yoga towel and just went for it. No weakness and no slipping. Sweet.
Now I’m unwinding with breakfast and a cup of milky chai. I’ve modified 101 Cookbooks carrot oatmeal cookies to use the zucchini that has exploded in availability right now. I might post a recipe later this week, or I might tweak the recipe just a bit. But they’re a yummy breakfast. I’ve brought a nettle infusion to drink mid-morning if I feel drained, since it really felt like my body was just screaming for nutrients yesterday.
Leave a Reply

