Yoga and the Weekend

Today, my plan was to go downtown to a yoga class, but I decided that I didn’t want to start working the hour-long Metro ride into my weekend schedule. So instead I went for a run in the morning, had a lazy day, and made sure stop eating by 2pm so I could do my yoga practice in the late afternoon.

I’m coming up on a month of doing yoga every day. I’ve learned a lot about myself and my connection to my yoga practice and I’ve decided I’m very attracted by the Ashtanga style of yoga. Unfortunately, there are no Ashtanga teachers outside of downtown DC in my area, so I’m looking at an hour-long Metro ride if I want to go to an Ashtanga studio. That pretty much rules out a Mysore practice, as I cannot commit to riding into DC 3-6 times a week. Sorry. Not going to happen.
But I can use ashtanga.info to learn the sequences. I’ve been practicing yoga for years now, so I know the postures; I just need prompting on the vinyasa sequences. I’ve also been looking at getting a primary series DVD. I think for the month of August, I’m going to commit to a full Ashtanga-style practice, practicing 6 days a week, resting on Saturdays and Moon Days. Honoring the moon connects with my own personal spirituality as well.
I’ll log my progress, and hopefully I’ll be able to get part of the way into the primary series by the end of the month. I did a long-ish practice today, doing 5 rounds each of Surya Namaskar A and B, the sequence of fundamental poses, some of the early primary series poses, and the finishing sequence. It felt good, and I can’t wait to continue this practice.
Leave a Reply

