Banh Mi at home, and Pork Liver Pate


Crazy week with no posting last week, but I do have something new to share. I made my own banh mi sandwiches. Banh mi are awesome Vietnamese sandwiches with French influence from the imperialist period. I’ve found a great little deli near work that makes them and I’ve learned to love the combination of creamy mayo and pate. Couple that with the 3 lbs. of pork liver I have sitting in my freezer right now, which I got for free from Lynne Ferguson at Ferguson Family Farm, and you have a recipe for homemade banh mi madness!

First, I made carrot and daikon pickles by jarring up some julienned veggies with a vinegar-sugar-and-salt brine with spices. Yum. Then, I got to work on the pate. The recipe is below, if you’re interested. Most pork pate recipes call for other meat besides the liver, but I used bacon instead. Then, I made homemade mayo. I put the whole thing together on a piece of French bread with grilled marinated beef and some fresh watercress, since my store was out of cilantro. Super-yummy.
I also made a modified version for breakfast by spreading mayo and pate on a fresh roll and stuffing it with carrot and daikon pickles!
Pork Liver and Bacon Pate
4-6 oz. of bacon, chopped
1-2 Tbsp. ghee
12 oz. pork liver, sliced or chopped
1/2 onion, sliced
1 clove of garlic, peeled and crushed
splash of white wine
3 Tbsp. softened butter
Put the bacon in a cold pan and turn the heat on to low or medium-low to render out the fat without crisping the bacon. You want really wiggly pieces here. Add in the ghee, turn up the heat to medium, and move the bacon to the edges of the pan. Add the pork liver pieces and saute until browned. Add the onions and garlic and a generous splash of white wine and simmer the whole thing, covered, for a half an hour or so. Let simmer uncovered to let most of the liquid evaporate off. Let this cool for a while. When it’s cool, process the meat mixture to break up the larger pieces, then process some more with the softened butter. Salt and pepper to taste. Makes about 2 cups of pate.
This post is part of Pennywise Platter at The Nourishing Gourmet and Simple Lives Thursday at GNOWFGLINS.
Leave a Reply

