Quickie: Pu-erh Ginger Tea


I haven’t had the inspiration to write a new post, but I thought I’d share a new find with you. I’ve recently begun drinking Rishi Ancient Tree Pu-erh Ginger tea. It’s not terribly cheap, but I can infuse each batch twice, which is nice. Pu-erh is a fermented tea product that’s known for its peculiar flavor. Generally, you either love it or hate it.

And I find it delicious. It’s very gingery when you smell the loose tea, but after it’s brewed the ginger mellows to a zingy top note. The main scent that I notice in the brewed tea is a profoundly earth note, almost like fresh, damp dirt. It sounds strange, but it makes for an incredibly smooth cup of tea with none of the acidic notes that can give tea a nasty aftertaste in the back of my throat.
It’s definitely caffeinated, but I find that it doesn’t give me the shakes like coffee does. The caffeine kick comes on slowly, like a warmth spreading through my body, and makes me feel motivated and energetic, not jittery, and I find that it wears off fairly quickly. I don’t crash, but I don’t find myself laying awake at night, even when I have a cup of tea at 3 p.m.
I use 1-2 heaped dessert spoons of loose tea leaves in a tea ball, steeped in about 8 oz. of boiling water. I use spring water, since it’s what’s available at work, but I’m sure filtered would also work. I steep it for 5-6 minutes, then remove the tea ball and reserve it. When I finish one cup, I can put the tea ball in another cupful of water and steep it again for 5-6 minutes. It’s just as delicious as the first.
This post is part of Simple Lives Thursday at GNOWFGLINS.
One response to this post.

  1. nothing like a nice cup of tea! back home ins ingapore, my mum would make sure we made tea the proper way, with loose leaves and chinese ceramic teapots! great that you found chinese tea lovely too (:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

