Food Snobbery: A week in pictures

This week, I’ve decided to go back to being a total food snob. I’ve mostly succeeded. I had a piece of Croatian walnut roll that a coworker’s wife made, but that’s exotic enough to still be snobby! And I’ve been enjoying my nightly piece of Salazon chocolate: good-quality dark chocolate with sea salt. Here are some of the meals I’ve been enjoying as part of my snobby week.

Calvados-steamed salmon with roasted carrots and broccoli

Spinach pesto meatballs with roasted beet and fennel salad with lavender balsamic vinaigrette and shaved Parmesan

Breakfast: A baked organic potato with pastured butter, miso-nettle-ginger soup, and plain yogurt

Bacon and onion frittata with roasted beet salad with honey-mustard vinaigrette

Spinach Pesto Meatballs over salad with balsamic vinaigrette
As you can see, I’ve been putting a lot of effort into planning meals that are unique and have a blend of flavors that is complex but not overly busy. It’s all been so much fun, both to cook and to eat, and it’s given me plenty of inspiration for weeks to come.
This post is part of Fight Back Friday at Food Renegade.
5 responses to this post.

  1. What do you put into those spinach pesto meatballs? they look amazing! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. I made spinach pesto minus the extra oil and squished that into the ground beef with an egg to bind it. So ground up spinach, almonds, parm, and garlic, mixed with beef, salt, pepper, and egg. I might post an actual recipe later.

    Reply

  3. Calvados steamed salmon?! I have calvados! I must try! Excellent idea πŸ˜€

    Reply

  4. A word of warning: I mixed the Calvados with water about half and half and I still got woozy off the fumes!

    Reply

  5. I want all of these recipes!!! Everything looks delicious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

