Millet Porridge

While I used to eat oatmeal in cold weather, my new favorite thing is millet. It’s gluten-free, and it happens to be the cheapest bulk grain at my organic store. I thought I’d share my recipe for basic millet porridge for you, since it’s such a frugal way to base a meal. I mostly eat it for breakfast, but it would make an excellent bed for any kind of topping. I’ve made hearty meals, with meat and eggs on top of millet, and I’ve made simple breakfasts of millet with butter and honey.


My current favorite is to fry up some sliced mushrooms in ghee and then push them to the side, fry up an egg and top the millet with butter, fried egg, and mushrooms. Delicious, filling, and no added sugar, so I don’t get hungry again mid-morning like I do with sweet breakfasts.

Basic Millet Porridge
1/3 cup millet
1 cup water + extra for soaking
dash of salt
The night before, put the millet in a container and cover with water (at least a cup). Add a splash of an acidic medium, if you wish. Millet is low in phytic acid, so it does not need a long soaking. In the morning, strain the millet and bring a cup of water to a boil. Add the salt and the millet and cover, turning the heat to low. Simmer for 10-15 minutes, or until the liquid has absorbed. Serve topped however you like. Makes one serving.
This post is part of Pennywise Platter at The Nourishing Gourmet.
Don’t miss the latest article at Wellness the Wild Woman Way, about stinging nettle!
2 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks, gonna try it in the morning. I like the IDEA of using Millet, but haven't really experimented with it much… put off I suppose, by my first Millet experience where it never really softened up. Soaking ought to take care of that though. And adding egg etc will make my man happy – he needs substance!

    Reply

  2. Yeah, the first few times I made millet, I cooked forever and it was still crunchy. Oh, and check out the first photo — that's scrambled eggs and pot roast over millet. That's a real "man" breakfast!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

