A Quick Pick-Me-Up: Custard Steamer


One thing I discovered that I love is milk steamers. At a coffee shop, a steamer is basically a flavored latte without the coffee. That is, hot milk and flavoring mixed together. But ever since I learned that citric acid can have MSG in it, and most flavor syrups have citric acid, I haven’t ordered any flavored coffee drinks out at coffee houses. But I can make my own, with nourishing sweeteners, like honey and maple syrup, and organic flavorings. And today, I learned that adding a beaten egg yolk and heating it with the milk makes a rich, drinkable, warm custard.

Custard Steamer
1 cup whole milk (milk and cream would be amazing)

dash of salt

1 tsp. or so of honey
1 egg yolk
flavoring of choice
Heat the milk, salt, and honey until the honey dissolves and steam starts to rise from the milk. Beat the egg yolk in a small dish (I used the mug from which I drank it and just rinsed it in between) and add about 1/3 of the hot milk. Add this back to the milk in the pan and heat over medium heat until it thickens and simmers at the edges. Made with milk, it will take on the consistency of half-and-half, and just barely start coating the back of a spoon. Remove from heat and stir in flavoring of choice (vanilla is always good). I like to strain it into a mug and let it cool for 10-15 minutes before drinking. It thickens as it cools.
This post is part of Fight Back Friday at Food Renegade.
Don’t miss the newest article at Wellness the Wild Woman Way!
Leave a Reply

