Small Pleasures

Yesterday was a great Valentine’s day, but a stressful day in general. The main stressor was something so completely out of my control that I had to just get over it because obsessing about it wasn’t going to make anything better. So I decided to see how many small things in my evening I could find that brought me joy.

Salad with citrus and olive oil. This was our appetizer for Valentine’s day dinner, and ever since I cut up a grapefruit that I had lying around and toss the segments on top of a salad for a random lunch, I’ve loved the flavor of citrus, olive oil, and salt.
The color and scent of red kale. It’s not really red; it’s purple. It has my absolute favorite color combination, purple and green. And it has a particular scent, almost perfume-y. It’s not a green scent, but it is amazing. As I chopped kale for my lunches this week, I took a moment to stick my nose in and inhale the scent. It calmed me.

Simple roast chicken and boiled potatoes. I never knew how easy a fantastic meal could be. Roast chicken is my go-to meal for company because it seems so complicated, but really all you do it salt a chicken and put it in a hot oven. And boiled potatoes with butter and salt seem to be my ultimate comfort food.

Finally, when all else fails, a cup of sage tea and a relaxing nighttime beauty ritual will always calm me down and leave me ready for restorative sleep. Good morning, everyone!
This post is part of Tuesday Twister at GNOWFGLINS.
One response to this post.

  1. I love Sage Tea. The Red Kale is very interesting. Thank you for sharing and you have a great day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

