Meat Pies: A Frugal Way to Use Leftovers


Another quickie showing one of my favorite ways to use up leftovers. Last week, I cooked a 5-lb. pot roast. While we ate a great deal of the meat for Sunday night dinner with a guest, and had it again the next night, I was not in the mood for more pot roast later in the week. So I chopped the meat, added sauteed vegetables, and simmered it in some of the reserved broth. I thickened the broth with a spoon of arrowroot, and then baked the whole thing in pie crusts for meat pies.

I used a standard pie crust recipe, with an added egg for structure to the crust, and a little more flour for the amount of butter I used. I also used half spelt flour and half white whole wheat flour, since I knew the meat filling could handle a heartier crust. The resulting pie was rich, filling, and altogether different from a bowl of pot roast with broth. Meat pies are a great way to recycle food without it seeming like “leftovers, again!”
This post is part of Pennywise Platter at The Nourishing Gourmet.
Don’t forget to check out the debut article at Wellness the Wild Woman Way!
4 responses to this post.

  1. I came over from Pennywise. This looks a lot like a Cornish meat tart popular with Finns in American. Cool!

    Reply

  2. I don't pretend to make anything authentic, but I have to admit I was inspired by the Cornish pasty! Thanks!

    Reply

  3. Wow, this is a great idea – way more exciting than soup. Did you cook it in a pie pan, or is it sturdy enough to kind of stand up by itself on a baking sheet? I found you on Pennywise, too. Thanks for this great idea!http://mindofthemother.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  4. I have made them before like turnovers on a cookie sheet, but this time I made them in tart pans to allow more room for filling. When you make them on a cookie sheet, you have to be a little careful not to over-stuff them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

