Simple Homemade Balm


This is a quick remedy that I made a while ago, but recently found pictures and realized I’d never posted it. I love lip balms. Growing up, my dad always had a Chapstick with him, and made sure, as we got older, that his kids did, too. My mom would put Chapsticks in our Christmas stockings. And, yes, I did put a few of them through the wash. That’s a nasty surprise.

But as I’ve moved to more natural products, I no longer use petrolatum-based lip balms. I also find that vegan lip balms don’t have the same benefits as a good beeswax balm. I like Burt’s Bees, but it’s expensive. Plus, beeswax balm isn’t just good on lips.
I make my balm with about 1/2 oz. of beeswax and an ounce of liquid oil. The balm pictured is beeswax and sweet almond oil. I grate the wax and melt it into the oil over low heat, then pour it into a pot and stir it with a toothpick occasionally until it sets up. It’s nice and soft and melts on my fingers. It also makes a nice treatment for the ends of my hair.
This post is part of Simple Lives Thursday at GNOWFGLINS.
Be sure to check out the latest article at Wellness the Wild Woman Way!
8 responses to this post.

  1. Interesting. The recipes I found had more parts, but this certainly looks easy. I did up some recently with sweet almond oil, coconut oil and beeswax. They also recommended cocoa butter, but I didn't have any on hand at the time. Do you find this lasts as well as petroleum based balms? Mine doesn't seem to hold up quite as well.

    Reply

  2. we use lots of chapsticks as well a couple of my teens suffer from dry lips and balm helps them love that you made your own

    Reply

  3. Laurie, I used Aura Cacia almond oil, which has vitamin E added, so that might help it keep. I made my first batch of balm in September and it still seems fine. There's no mold and it still just has a light honey scent. I've also made a vertion with coconut oil to make a firmer balm, and olive oil because my sister is allergic to nuts, so I could ask her how it keeps in a month or two.Shopannies, I made this pot of balm for about $2 or less, and it's at least as much as 4 sticks of Chapstick. Hope you give it a try and have success!

    Reply

  4. Thank you for this post. I have been wanting to make a lip balm. I have a few recipes but non as simple as this one. One of my goals for this month is to make lip balm. I didn't realize you could just make it with two ingredients. Do you ever add an essential oil? What other liquid oil would be good to use?

    Reply

  5. I don't use essential oils in anything that goes near my mouth, although you could use a small amount of flavoring if you wanted. I've also made this with olive oil, since my sister is allergic to nuts. I might make a version with jojoba oil and maybe a lavender-infused oil as a tattoo balm if I get another tattoo, as well.

    Reply

  6. Would you be able to share with us how we can add color to the balm to make it a lip gloss?Tks

    Reply

  7. Unfortunately, I don't plan on making tinted balms, so it's not something I've thought about a lot. I've heard of alkanet root being used as a colorant in natural cosmetics, but it has a known risk of liver toxicity, so I'm hesitant to use it. You could also try colored iron oxides, like what are used to make mineral makeup.

    Reply

  8. Alkanet root works well as a tint. I haven't heard about the liver toxicity thing though. You can look up the various ways to use alkanet. Annato seeds work as well. And you could try beet powder. I have heard that some people use it for blush.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

