Illness and Comfort


One of the reasons for my various long hiatuses (hiati?), besides my stressful day job, is that I have gotten sick twice in the last two months. First, I returned from Brazil with a stomach bug; then, I found myself with a terrible flu during my Yule holiday. Well, I admit, I did resort to some Advil to bring my fever down while I had the flu, but I also made sure to eat plenty of nourishing foods.

The best of the nourishing sick foods is probably soup. Nourishing soup is made with homemade bone broth. I had both chicken and duck broth in my freezer, and was particularly stocked because I had cooked both a chicken and a duck within a week of getting sick. Since we eat a lot of beef, and I don’t purchase many beef bones, this was a wonderful coincidence.
For my get-well soup, I boiled some soba (buckwheat) noodles and steamed some kale. I simmered the broth with some tamari and sliced ginger. Then, I put noodles, kale, and chopped leftover chicken in a bowl, topped them with raw green onions and garlic, and ladled the hot broth over them. I forgot to take a picture of this, but a hard boiled egg is a wonderful way to finish it off.
How is your cold and flu season going? I hope this soup finds you in good health, or brings you back to it!
(This post is part of Real Food Wednesdays at Kelly the Kitchen Kop)
4 responses to this post.

  1. I am sitting here after being in bed a couple of days with a doozy of a cold. I don't feel a whole lot better yet, but just had to get out of bed for a while. Fortunately I had chicken soup in the freezer, made with wonderful pastured chickens and farmers market veggies. At least I am eating well. I will be trying your recipe for sure!

    Reply

  2. i don't get sick anymore….knock on wood. 4 years and only one sickness that i can say was a problem. flu went around my house twice and i avoided it both times. i attribute this to my diet that keeps inflammation low and my immune system strong.

    Reply

  3. It looks so yummy. Hot soup is good for starving tummy. lol. Seriously,hot soup provides a comforting meal and rehydrate your body which is good for the sick. Adding a quick bowl of soup to your meals especially during the cold season can help you warm up and avoid unnecessary calories.

    Reply

  4. Oh, Chris, I hope you're feeling better now. My flu started out just feeling like maybe I'd over-exerted myself. I like to think my soup might have made a difference.Chuck, yeah, I'm almost to the point where I don't get sick, but I think having lunch with a friend who works in a doctor's office was more than my system could handle. That and the holidays throwing more sugar at me than I could resist!Sophie, yeah, I love soup, but I'll actually add coconut milk to it sometimes because I've never been afraid of a few extra calories!Thank you for all the lovely comments.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

