Sugar-Free Challenge

So I joined The Nourishing Gourmet’s Sugar-Free Challenge. And Kimi put up a link to my blog with my name on the list, so I figured it would be a good idea to blog about it a little. Yeah… sugar. I like sugar. I actually consider myself to have a rather large sweet tooth, though I don’t indulge it as often as I’d like. But, I have decided that over-indulgence in sweets is the reason I put on a little weight in 2010, so I’ve decided to cut back.

The challenge comes at a good time. I got a nasty flu over my holiday vacation, and I’m just now starting to get my appetite back, so I don’t feel the need to snack as much as I used to. I’m getting better at making meals that satisfy me. But I do still indulge in the odd piece of candy from the candy jars all around me at work. And, even when I’ve avoided sweets all day, my one vice lately is a cup of Equal Exchange Hot Cocoa after dinner.
So, it’s only a week. I can cut out my cup of hot cocoa, and focus on eating only wholesome, nourishing foods. I’m also trying to transition as close as I can to a lacto-paleo way of eating, at least for most meals, so this will help support my sugar-free efforts. Perhaps, this will lead to another Whole30 challenge later in the year; we’ll see.
3 responses to this post.

  1. Cool- I'll have to check out her challenge too. Our family did a month last April- I ended up cooking everything from scratch and got super tired of cooking. But I learned a ton and have definitely changed the things we eat. So much less sugar now!

    Reply

  2. I am such a sugar addict! I am doing very well with staying away from bread/pasta AND sugar. I have found my sugar cravings (nearly) go away when I eliminate grains. I love 'The Daily Apple' although I don't necessarily believe that our neolithic ancestors ate no grains!

    Reply

  3. Thanks for the comments! I'm doing okay so far, although I forgot to buy any extra fruit at the store this weekend, so I'm really going cold turkey. I guess that'll be better, right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

