Housewifery

This week, I’m home from work for the holidays. I’m enjoying it immensely. I’ve already hosted one dinner party, and I’m doing a brunch party tomorrow. I’ve also been cooking some lovely, nourishing meals, as well as doing some baking. I made an orange-spice cake for Monday’s dinner for which I may post a recipe, and today I’ve made some homemade granola for my husband. No, it’s not the most nourishing thing, seeing as I didn’t soak the oats, but I did use blanched almonds, unsweetened coconut, and I used grass-fed ghee and organic grade-B maple syrup, so that it’s full of good fats and minerals. It’s also rather tasty. The trick was baking it in a lower oven than most recipes call for, and stirring it every 10 minutes.

I think I would enjoy being a full-time homemaker, but I do also enjoy being a scientist, so I have no plans to quit my job anytime soon. I am, however, considering writing a cookbook for women who think that busy women can’t also make fabulous homemade meals that make their husbands feel like the luckiest man in the world. Seriously, I’m so not old-fashioned, and yet there’s something supremely satisfying about hearing my husband brag to his friends about the meals I make him on a regular basis.
2 responses to this post.

  1. It's not about being old-fashioned, I think it is about just taking pride in all that you do, being a whole and complete and authentic individual and bringing all of your skills to bear on this thing called living. I'm not old-fashioned, either, but I'm damned proud of my baking and cooking!! ;op

    Reply

  2. There is something special about feeding the ones you love delicious, nourishing foods. It goes beyond old-fashioned, it is timeless. I hope you do write a book. It would be great for someone like me who works full-time. I know I can make great meals even being busy, but so many traditional eating books and blogs practically require you to be a homemaker. So please write a book. I will buy the first copy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

