Kale Vinegar and Poached Eggs in the Garden

One of Susun Weed’s recommendations for women at risk for osteoporosis is to make herbal vinegars with plants that have a high calcium content. Similar to the nourishing practice of adding a spoonful of vinegar to broth to help extract minerals, tincturing calcium-rich plants in vinegar helps to extract calcium into the vinegar. I made kale vinegar this summer by packing a jar with fresh kale and then filling it with apple cider vinegar.

This vinegar can then be used when cooking more greens to help release their calcium, as well as add more calcium to the dish. I use my vinegar to poach a combination of kale, mushrooms, garlic, and a couple eggs for a nourishing, grain-free breakfast that benefits from the wisdom of the herb woman.

Poached Eggs in the Garden
1/2 portabella mushroom, chopped into large pieces
1-2 Tbsp. butter or ghee
2 cloves garlic, chopped fine
2-3 cups chopped kale
2 eggs
1 Tbsp. kale vinegar
1 Tbsp. water
Saute the mushrooms in some butter or ghee over medium heat until cooked through. Reduce the heat and add garlic and more butter, and saute just until the garlic becomes fragrant, less than a minute. Add the greens and toss with the garlicky, mushroomy butter. Add the water and vinegar and immediately crack the eggs on top of the greens. Cover and steam for 4-6 minutes, or until eggs are done to your liking. You can add salt and pepper if you like. Makes one hearty serving.

6 responses to this post.

  1. I just made this for lunch with a few changes. No mushrooms on hand, used red onion. I have a meeting in a couple of hours so I left out the garlic. Used bacon grease (no nitrates) to sautee onion and kale, then added ACV water and eggs to poach. Will have to make kale vinegar for next time. All in all, this tastes awesome. The vinegar is an unexpected but perfect complement to the kale and egg, glad I tried this recipe, will make again.

    Reply

  2. I'm so glad it worked for you! Yeah, vinegar is an unusual flavor for people these days, but I like it with greens, and the richness of the eggs helps cut through the bite. Oh, I've also cooked this with refined coconut oil for a dairy-free option, but bacon grease sounds amazing. Thanks for trying it out.

    Reply

  3. How did you make the kale vinegar? I have never made my own vinegars before.

    Reply

  4. I used regular apple cider vinegar and infused it with kale. You fill a jar with chopped, washed and dried kale leaves, then fill it again to the top with pasteurized vinegar and leave the whole thing in a cool place for six weeks. It's like making an herbal tincture with vinegar in place of alcohol. I hope that helps. It imparts the vinegar with a lot of nutrients, as well as a lightly green taste.

    Reply

  5. That is very helpful. Thank you. You have to use pasteurized vinegar? This sounds like a good idea for for gifts for like-minded friends.

    Reply

  6. I use pasteurized vinegar because it's what I keep on hand for my hair. I mostly care about the acid leeching minerals out of the herb. Unpasteurized vinegar will form a mother, which will probably get caught in the herbs and look icky, so if you're making gifts, you might want to stick with pasteurized vinegar unless your friends are mother-friendly.Personally, I reserve my raw vinegar for salad dressings and soaking grains, since it tends to be just a bit more expensive than pasteurized.

    Reply

Leave a comment