Kibbeh-Inspired Spice Rub

A few months back, I posted a meal on Twitter that was “Lebanese spiced beef patties.” Wardeh of GNOWFGLINS asked “So what makes them Lebanese?” Okay, the truth is, I’m about as Lebanese as apple pie, but I found a recipe for kibbeh and used those spices to make some delicious spiced ground beef that made delicious spiced ground beef patties that reminded me of my absolute favorite local restaurant (because it serves kibbeh), the New Deal Cafe.
And thus begun my love affair with the combination of cumin with what I consider “pumpkin pie spices,” i.e., cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, etc. (no cloves, cloves overpower). So what better to toss with chicken wings for a Middle East inspired party? The concept started life as being kebabs, but I switched to chicken wings when I discovered that wings were about half the price per pound (maybe less) of boneless breasts. Plus, I got bones!

Kibbeh-Inspired Spice Rub
2 Tbsp. cumin
1 Tbsp. sea salt
2 tsp. nutmeg
2 tsp. allspice
2 tsp. cinnamon
2 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. ground ginger
1 tsp. chipotle chile powder
Shake all ingredients in a container until combined. Toss with meat, fish, or sprinkle into hummus (careful, it’s got salt in it). Makes just over 1/3 cup of rub.
Leave a Reply

