Post-Run Sweet Potato

This post is part of Tuesday Twister at GNOWFGLINS.
Ever since I switched to real foods, my biggest issue is figuring out what to eat after I run. Generally, especially since I’ve been running on Sunday’s, I have a fresh slice of homemade bread that my husband makes every week for his sandwiches. But that’s not Whole30-compliant. And, anyway, it’s not that great of a post-run snack anyway.

So, inspired by Robb Wolf’s assurance that a sweet potato makes a great post-workout snack, I came up with the idea to eat a baked sweet potato after my run. And since I had leftover dried apricots and pistachios from Book Club sweets, I made a topping. Interesting note: Since 5 miles takes me between 45 and 50 minutes (yes, I just gave away my pace), I can put the sweet potato in the oven when I’m leaving, and it’s done by the time I finish stretching (or showering, depending on the size of the sweet potato).
Topped Sweet Potato
1 sweet potato, baked
2 dried apricots (unsulphured, please), chopped fine
1-2 Tbsp. pistachios, chopped fine
1-2 Tbsp. unsweetened coconut flakes
dash each: cinnamon, ginger, allspice, nutmeg
1 Tbsp. coconut oil (when I’m back on dairy, this will be butter)
Unwrap your sweet potato and slit it lengthwise, like a baked potato. Push the ends together to expose the vivid orange flesh. Mix together the next four ingredients, and strew over the top of the potato flesh. Drizzle/melt the oil over that. Dig in.
2 responses to this post.

  1. This potato looks so yummy! I have to have one.Thank you…

    Reply

  2. That does look yummy! I never thought of making that particular combination and using a sweet potato.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

