Whole30 Week 3 Recap

This week was not as good. While I didn’t technically eat anything forbidden to the program, I did discover one of my personal paleo-food weaknesses. Trail mix. No chocolate or seed oils or anything. Just unsweetened dried fruit and dry roasted nuts. And yet I find it impossible to stop eating. I ate most of an 8-oz. bag between Sunday and Labor Day, and then made myself another pound to bring to work. Soooo yummy.

But all those nuts and dried fruit? Don’t agree with the system. Felt bloated, a little clogged. Frankly, I think nuts are more inflammatory/bloating to my system than dairy ever was! So this week, I’m cutting back on the nuts. I’m going to bring cut up raw veggies for snacks, and I have a few cans of sardines.
Because, seriously, if I’m not hungry enough to eat a can of sardines, I probably wasn’t really hungry to begin with, right?
But I’m still at it. Still eating pretty clean. My skin is a little clearer, just starting this week, but next week (week before period) will be the real test of that. And I feel good. I guess I didn’t eat too poorly to begin with because I don’t feel like I’ve made a huge change in my body, just how much I crave sugar.
Since people last week asked, the meals are a breakfast (eggs scrambled with peppers, zucchini, and mushroom, topped with raw salsa), a lunch (stir-fried shrimp, breakfast veggies, and eggs, seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic, drizzled with a touch of toasted sesame oil, and topped with avocado), and the liver dinner from the last post!
Leave a Reply

