Paleo Book Club!

This post is part of Real Food Wednesday with Kelly the Kitchen Kop.
Today was my paleo/Whole30-compliant book club! I was so proud of my efforts. Not only did anyone comment on anything but the deliciousness of the food, but we didn’t even touch the bag of chips one of the girls brought!

We had nibbles: olives and nuts. I marinated canned olives in lemon juice, garlic, and herbs. They were delicious.

We had a big bowl of Mediterranean salad, with tomatoes, cucumbers, onion, pepper, olive oil, lemon juice, and cilantro. It was supposed to be parsley, but in my defense, the two do look an awful lot alike. I didn’t realize my mistake until I ripped a handful off the bunch and got a whiff.

These are (were) broiled spiced chicken wings. I tossed them with a Middle-East-inspired blend of spices (cumin, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, etc.) and broiled them. Delish.

And shrimp, in case someone didn’t want to eat chicken for some reason. Also, I love shrimp and my husband does not, so I rarely cook them. They’re tossed in the same spice mixture as the chicken.
For dessert I made fruit-and-nut balls. They’re basically a recipe for homemade Larabars, made with dried apricots and roasted pistachios, then I rolled them in balls and rolled them in coconut. So yummy. And there are leftovers of these, since one of the girls brought cupcakes. Oddly enough, the cupcakes did not tempt me, but I wanted to dig a spoon into the whipped cream and cream cheese mixture she brought to frost them.
And I even saved all the bones from the chicken wings, which, along with the tips, will make great broth!
(Oh yeah, the book was Nemesis, by Isaac Asimov, but only two of us had read it. I really liked it, though.)
6 responses to this post.

  1. The Mediterranean salad l@@ks absolutly great!!!

    Reply

  2. There's a recipe in NT that's pretty similar to what I used, and quite a few real food bloggers lately have been posting them (I blame the great late summer tomatoes). I know I saw a nice recipe at GNOWFGLINS.Thanks.

    Reply

  3. Hey there great blog! I am so excited to start my own blog this week once I get a moment between school stuff to do so. Actually I could be doing that right now while I am commenting on your blog, but anyway….I make broth too and for one moment thought "Is she not a little freaked out about using bones from random peoples mouths?" Does the process of boiling the bones for two days get rid of their cooties?

    Reply

  4. Since boiling water supposedly will make creek water safe to drink in the wild, I'm not concerned about other people's mouth germs surviving. And if I have bones, I'm not going to let them go to waste!Good luck with your blog!

    Reply

  5. Oh man! I just had my short story book club last night, and since some folks are veggies, I didn't bother to try to make it paleo. It was still pretty healthy – only corn tortillas for the grain – and some sugar via sangria and the homemade flan, but now I'm officially jealous that you made it work.Hey, I found your blog via your comment on MDA regarding the 20% and the Irish Car Bomb cupcakes.I would sell my mother for that recipe! After posting and then reading everyone else’s posts, I realized that Irish Car Bombs are definitely a favorite indulgence as well. So if you by chance can get that recipe, my mother will be in the mail.Cheers!Juliejtigger@mail.com

    Reply

  6. Julie, it's from the blog Smitten Kitchen, so you don't have to sell your mother! Not very primal, but they're so rich that once a year or so is fine with me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

