Nutrients and Food Cravings

This post is part of Fight Back Friday at Food Renegade.

Most people on the Whole30, it seems, crave sweets or pasta or chips. Me, I was jonesing hard for butter the first two week. This week, it’s liver pate, which contains its fair share of butter. Oh yeah, and cheese.

Yeah, I’ll admit, I had the odd craving for a piece of chocolate or a slice of bread (with butter!), especially after my husband brought his warm, freshly-baked, homemade loaf out of the oven on Sunday.
But really, this week has been all about the liver.
And, oddly enough, I’ve been starting to think I might be deficient in folate, mostly from spot-checking my days’ vitamin values in CRON-o-meter. I generally am hard pressed to make 50% of the RDA. And, odder still, chicken livers are high in folate. Curiouser, and curiouser.
I’ve come to the realization that, in the absence of overstimulating sweeteners and flavor enhancers, my body really loves and craves nutrient-dense, real food. I’ve always been a fan of higher-fat diets, ever since I saw what a diet high in cocoa butter did to my skin and hair (What? I was a high-school senior working at Godiva!). This month’s experiment has clinched it for me. I’m desperately hoping that dairy doesn’t cause any acute reactions for me, because I think that cheese and cream are going right back into my diet, along with butter and yogurt.
Oh, and as for liver, last night’s dinner of beef liver and onions, fried in beef tallow (pictured above) proved me right, at least to myself. Usually the texture of beef liver gives me pause after one slice, but last night I plowed through two full slices practically without coming up for air, and probably could have eaten another!
2 responses to this post.

  1. Don't you just love listening to your body and trusting it? It's an empowering, good feeling.Thanks for sharing!~KristenM(AKA FoodRenegade)

    Reply

  2. Thanks for hosting Fight Back Friday! It's a staple of my weekly blog viewing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

