Braised Beef with Onions

This post is part of Real Food Wednesday 9/8/2010

So now that I have my computer back, I’m going to try to share more of the recipes I’ve been making on a daily basis, especially while I’m on the Whole30 program for the next two weeks. One great recipe I’ve found for a grain-free existence is pot roast. It’s a great way to take a reasonably cheap cut of meat and turn it into meals for most of the rest of the week.

I start with a rump roast from my favorite farmer, Dr. Scott at Hedgeapple Farms (seriously, if you’re in the MD/DC area, I can’t recommend him enough). This was a whopping 4.5-pounder. Now, since I like fat, I didn’t trim an ounce off this guy. I sear him and soak up his browned bits with some sliced onions and garlic cloves, and simmer the whole thing in homemade stock with a few bay leaves.
About an hour into braising, the whole apartment smelled amazing… and I still had a couple more hours left to wait! I tossed some cut-up root vegetables in to roast alongside the Dutch oven about an hour-and-a-half before we ate, but I think the low roasting temperature didn’t get along with them, so I’ll have to re-evaluate the vegetable accompaniment.
But the roast itself was amazing. I “carved” it with a pair of tongs, and ladled on the rich broth, brimming with soften, gelatin-infused onions, and dug in. This will be my lunch for the next week, and I think I’ll be able to get another dinner out of it, too!

Braised Beef with Onions
1 4.5-lb. rump roast
1 medium onion, sliced
2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled
3-4 cups of homemade beef bone broth (reserve the fat that collects on top)
salt and pepper to taste
3-4 bay leaves
Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Salt the meat. Sear it on all sides over medium-high heat in the reserved beef fat in a heavy Dutch oven. Remove to a plate. Saute the onions in the drippings until browned, add the garlic, and add pepper to taste. Add back the meat, and pour the broth in. It should come at least halfway up the meat. Add bay leaves around the edges of the meat, cover, and place in the oven for at least 3 hours. When it’s done, you can remove the meat and the bay leaves and reduce the broth for a sauce, but I like it as it is. Makes 6-8 servings, and great leftovers!
3 responses to this post.

  1. That looks awesome – looking forward to seeing more good whole food recipes.-LL

    Reply

  2. Your braised beef looks wonderful. There is nothing like good quality beef slowly cooked to perfection!

    Reply

  3. Thank you both! April, let me tell you, the smell was unbearable for most of the cooking — I wanted to pull it out and devour it after an hour.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

