Following your Joy

Anyone who reads this, or my previous, blog knows that I am passionate about food and health. I love to eat well, and move as often as I can. Lately, however, I’ve been finding myself periodically floundering in my chosen career path (most decidedly not food/health-related) and I’ve toyed with the idea of looking into nutrition consulting, either as a new career or as a way to supplement my life in a more directed way. Personally, I have a lot of experience with various diets, and the ways they affected my health, and I have a strong drive to learn and understand a variety of sides in the diet debate.

I also love spreadsheets and organizing my thoughts, so I think I might be useful to someone who doesn’t think as quantitatively as I, should they want someone to help them put together meals and menu plans the way I do.
But I don’t know where to start. I’ve done some web searching, and even contacted a local nutrition consultant who demonstrates at our farmers market about her trajectory. If anyone has any insight or personal tales on becoming a nutrition consultant, please leave me a comment with your email and I would love to correspond.
One response to this post.

  1. I have been thinking of this too. Probably the first thing I would look into is the accredited schools, or type of courses you have to take to get certified in your state/province. That way you can get insured. I plan on doing a nutritional consultant track with an online school part time while working full time (in a job completely unrelated). I don't know if I'll ever plan to change my full-time job though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

