Frugal Frittata

So all the pictures for this recipe are still on my camera, but I wanted to get the recipe up for Pennywise Platter today. This is a classic Spanish tortilla, made for two. It’s nutrient-dense, and uses eggs, which are frugal, potatoes, which are even more frugal, and green onions, which I always end up wasting when I get them because they always come in bunches that are bigger than I need.

I used a recipe from Simply Recipes for inspiration, but then adjusted the amounts to fit what I needed and had on hand. It’s incredibly simple, if a little labor intensive. I suppose if you were so inclined, you could steam the potatoes instead of frying them to save a little time, but I imagine it would leave your tortilla wetter.

Anyway, I thought you would enjoy another simple weeknight meal. Anyone who read my menu plan on Sunday knows that I wasn’t really planning on making a tortilla, but I ended up with a few more potatoes than I needed, and a few extra green onions that were not going to last to the end of the week.

Spanish Tortilla
adapted from Simply Recipes
3 small red potatoes, sliced 1/8″ thick
3 green onions, white and light green parts sliced
olive oil
salt
4 eggs, beaten with a little milk and pepper to taste
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Add olive oil to a small pan over medium heat. Add the sliced potatoes in about 3 batches, so that there is a single layer of potato slices in the bottom of the pan. Fry on both sides until cooked through, and maybe slightly golden. As the potatoes cook, remove cooked slices to drain on a paper towel before cooking more. Salt the hot potatoes. When the potatoes are done, reduce the heat to medium-low, add more oil if you need, and add the green onions. Saute until slightly tender and fragrant, then remove from the heat. Add the potato slices back in, overlapping them in about 2 layers. Pour egg mixture over the potatoes, and give it a little shake to make sure everything is even. Bake for about 15-20 minutes, or until a sharp knife inserted in the center comes out clean, and there is no oozing from the cut (the tortilla will puff slightly). Loosen from the pan and invert on a plate. Cut into wedges. Serves 2.
Leave a Reply

