A Hearty Meal

Yes, I know it’s hot. But when I get home after working a long day, and I know I might be getting up to go running or do some dancing or whatever in the morning, I want a hearty meal, one that will stay with me at least until I go to bed, and not send me running for my secret stash of chocolate by 8pm.

This is a hearty meal. It is all cooked, but could be served along some raw sauerkraut, or topped with raw cheese, or sour cream for some enzymes.

I simply love it. I’ve been making it with my homemade sage sausage that I made with Ferguson Family Farm‘s fresh ground pork. They raise Berkshire hogs on pasture, y’know. If you’re in the MD/DC area, I suggest you look around for them. The woman who mans (womans?) the booth at our farmer’s market is awesomely knowledgeable and very friendly.

And they do chicken and beef, too! I need to remember to order a turkey, I think…

Sausage, Pepper, and Potato Skillet Meal
a scant pint of small potatoes (or 3-4 medium), in 1/2″ cubes

your favorite cooking fat (I think ghee would be awesome here)
salt
1/2 lb. bulk sausage
1 green bell pepper, diced
1/4 onion, diced
raw cheese (optional)
Heat the skillet over medium-low heat, and add a good tablespoon or two of your fat. When it’s hot, add the potatoes and give them a bit of salt. Cook, stirring every 5-10 minutes, until the potatoes are cooked through (takes about 30-40 minutes for me). Feel free to get off your feet while you’re waiting to stir. When the potatoes are cooked, push them to the edges and add the sausage. Brown on one side, then flip to brown the other side, crumbling it up a bit with the spatula. Then push the sausage to the side and add the veggies. Cook them through, then stir everything together and cook for a few minutes. Serve, topped with raw cheese, if you like. Makes 2 hearty servings.
This is part of Real Food Wednesday.
2 responses to this post.

  1. I love skillet meals in the summer. They are hearty, but all the ingredients are in one dish. We usually make a hash/skillet of whatever meat we have and fresh vegetables and then serve with a plate of fruit. Everyone fills up on tasty, healthy food and it makes good use of things you only have one of, too.

    Reply

  2. Um, I am basically in love with this dish! It has all of my super fave parts of breakfast rolled up into a one pot meal! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

