In Honor of my Newest Follower

My journey to herbal medicine is a winding, circuitous one. It somewhat starts with my husband, who drinks Traditional Medicinals Gypsy Cold Care tea when he’s sick rather than running straight for the Sudafed. From there, I met his mother and grandmother, who raised him with natural remedies. My mother-in-law was always my go-to resource when I had a problem that conventional medicine couldn’t solve.

But the other thing that brought me to herbal medicine and homemade remedies was being a member of the Long Hair Community. This vibrant, eclectic community of men and women brought together by a love of growing long, healthy hair loves to share recipes for hair treatments, many of which are mixed up in the kitchen, rather than the lab of some cosmetic company. Well, today I noticed that I have a new follower, one of my hair idols from this community. So as a shoutout to her, I’m going to share a proto-type herbal hair vinegar I made for re-acidifying my hair after washing my hair with homemade (by someone else) cold-process soap.
Herbal Hair Vinegar
I made this on a whim, and would much prefer to use fresh herbs. The rosebuds didn’t seem to do much scent-wise, so I would probably stick to sage and nettle alone. It has a lovely, herb-y scent, and I swear it makes my hair shinier. Be careful with this if you’re blonde, as I’ve heard sage can darken hair.
In a 500-ml jar, put:
0.30 oz. dried red roses
0.25 oz. dried nettle leaves
0.30 oz. dried sage leaves
Fill jar with pasteurized apple cider vinegar, cover (use a jar with a plastic lid or put a piece of waxed paper between the vinegar and the lid if you want to prevent rust from forming) and let steep for at least 6 weeks. Strain and use for hair rinses. I use about 2-4 Tbsp. diluted in a 23-oz. jar filled the rest of the way with water. I pour this mixture through my hair immediately after washing with soap, and then rinse it with warm and then cool water.
2 responses to this post.

  1. Can we use unpasteurized apple cider vinegar instead?This potion could turn gray hair black?Tks

    Reply

  2. You could absolutely use unpasteurized vinegar, though it may form a mother that gets mingled with the herbs and looks scummy.Apple cider vinegar has been known to have a reddening effect on very light blonde hair, but it will not turn hair black. If you're looking for an herbal hair darkener, you might try rosemary and sage infusion, or a mixture of henna and indigo. Since I don't darken my grey hairs, I'm not much help on the specifics.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

